The President of the Governing Board and the Secretary General of the CIHEAM

Mrs Frida Krifca, was elected President of the CIHEAM Governing Board during its 151st meeting.

On the same occasion, Mr Teodoro Miano was elected as the new Secretary-General. He took office on March 1, 2023, for a first four-year term.

Read more about these elections here.

The CIHEAM governing board

Consisting of one representative from each of the 13 Member States, the Governing Board is the managing and decision-making body. Representatives of the OECD and the Council of Europe sit ex officio on the Board in an advisory capacity. The President is elected by a 2/3 majority for a period of 4 years. He is assisted by Vice-Presidents elected for the same period through the same voting procedure.

President of the Governing Board Mrs Frida KRIFCA (Albania)
Governing Board Vice Presidents Mrs Wafaa AL-DIKAH HAMZE (Lebanon)
Mr Miguel Angel RIESGO PABLO (Spain)
Member States Delegates Mrs Ermira GJEÇI (Albania)
Mrs Fatiha BAOUCHE (Algeria)
Mr Adel Abdel Azzim Abu Al-Yazid (Egypt)
Mrs Valérie BADUEL (France)
Mr Christos AVGOULAS (Greece)
Mr Marco GIUNGI (Substitute, Italy)
Mr Sharlo CAMILLERI (Malta)
Mr Redouane ARRACH (Morocco)
Mr Hichem BEN SALEM (Tunisia)
Mr Metin TURKER (Türkiye)


The advisory board

It consists of a number of eminent figures appointed for a period of 4 years by the Governing Board. They are "chosen, in particular, from among members of establishments for higher education in agriculture and of agricultural research institutes" (article 5.1 of the 1962 Agreement). It gives its advice on issues submitted by the Governing Board.

President of the Advisory Board Mr ABDALLAH Chadi (CNRS Lebanon)
Advisory Board Members Mrs BENCHIKH LEHOCINE Maysoun (Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development of Algeria)
Mrs FATEN Khamassi (INAT, Tunisia)
Mr CARMONA BELO Carlos (INIAV, Portugal)
Mr KAPAJ Ilir (Tirana University, Albania)
Mr ROJAS BRIALES Eduardo (Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain)
Mrs SAMMUT Sonya (Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, Food, and Animal Rights of Malta)